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To Report Adult Abuse: (800) 564-1612
Fax (802) 871-3318

September 10, 2014

Ms, Kristine Kupcha, Administrator
Copley House Community Care Home

379 Washington Highway
Morrisville, VT 05661

VIA FAX (802) 888-6393 AND FIRST CLASS MAIL
Dear Ms. Kupcha:

The Division of Licensing and Protection completed the complaint investigation at your facility on
August 27, 2014. The purpose of the survey was to determine if your facility was in compliance with
Vermont Residential Care Home Regulations. The survey statement is enclosed. This survey found the
most serious deficiency in your facility to be widespread deficiencies that constitute no actual harm with
potential for more than minimal harm that is not immediate jeopardy. You must submit a plan of
correction. Please write/type the Plan of Correction in the space provided to the right. A completion
date for each plan of correction must be indicated in the far right hand column. Attach additional pages if

necessary,

Please sign, date, and indicate your title on the bottom of'the first page of the report and return this
report to this office no later than September 23, 2014.

Your POC must contain the following:

What action you will take to correct the deficiency;

What measures will be put into place or what systemic changes you will make to ensure
that the deficient practice does not recur; and,

How the corrective actions will be monitored so the deficient practice does not recur.

. The dates corrective action will be completed.

Developmental Disabilities Services Adult Services Blind and Visually Impaired
Licensing and Protection Vocational Rehabilitation



If you disagree with the existence or accuracy of a deficiency, please provide comments in the space
provided beneath the deficiency statement.

You may also request an informal review of all or part of the contents of the notice at any time prior to
September 23, 2014 by calling Frances Keeler, RN, MSN, DBA, Assistant Division Director, or
Clayton Clark, Division Director at 871-3317. If you are not satisfied with the outcome of the informal
review with the Division, you may request a review by the Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging and
Independent Living. To request a review with the Commissioner, call 802-871-3350.

The Department is authorized to impose sanctions for failure to correct a deficiency and/or faihure to
provide proof of correction by the specified Correction Date. Depending on the nature of the violations,
the following sanctions may be imposed: administrative penalties of up to $10.00 per resident or
$100.00, whichever is greater, for each day the violation remains uncorrected; suspension, revocation or
modification of an existing license; refusal to renew a license; suspension of admission or transfer of
residents to an alternative placement; injunctive relief to enjoin any act or omission; and the appointment
of a receiver for a facility. If you feel strict compliance with the law or regulations would impose a
substantial hardship, you may apply to the Department for a variance as stated under Section I1I of the
Residential Care Home Licensing Regulations. You must do so prior to September 23, 2014.

Appeals_ _

As noted above, you may seek an informal review from Frances Keeler, RN, MSN, DBA, Assistant Division
Director, or a Commissioner's review of this decision. In addition, you have a right to request a fair hearing
with the Human Services Board. Decisions by the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living
can be appealed to the Human Services Board pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §3091. The request for a fair hearing
before the Human Services Board must be made within thirty (30) days of your receipt of the notice of this
decision, and can be made by writing to the Board at 14-16 Baldwin Street, Montpelier, VT 05633-4302.
You have a right to appear before the Board and to present witnesses and other evidence with regard to the
case. You also have a right to be represented by an attorney at the Human Services Board fair hearing.

Please contact me at 871-3317 if you have any questions.
Sincerely,

Pamela M. Cota, RN
Licensing Chief
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